Jain World
Sub-Categories of Antiquity of Jainism
Meaning of Jainism
Tradition of Tirthankara
Historicity of the Jaina tradition
Jaina tradition and Buddhism
  Jaina tradition and Hinduism
  Jaina tradition & archaeological evidence
  Fundamental principles of Jainism
  Philosophy of Jainism
  Tattvas of Jainism
  Doctrines of Jainism
  Three-fold path of Salvation
  Prescription of Ethical Code
  Private distinctiveness of Jaina Ethics
  Importance assigned to five vratas
  Prominence given to Ahimsa
  Easy practicability of ethical code
  Commoness of ethical code
  Rise of sections in Jainism
  The Great Schism of Jainism
  The Digambara and Svetambara sects
  The Digambara sub-sects
  The Svetambara Sub-sects
  Jainism in East India
  Jainism in Northern India
  Jainism in Western India
  Jainism In South India
  Contribution of Jainism to Indian Culture
  Jainism and other religions
  Significance of Jainism
  Glossary of Jaina terms



Glossary of Jaina terms

Kala: time, period, age

Kama: pleasure want

Kalpa: a unit of the cosmic time

Kamandalu: a wooden water pot

Kanksa: desire for sense pleasure

Karma: subtle particles of matter

Karmabhumi: life based on efforts

Karunya: compassion for the afflicted beings

Kasaya: passion

Kaya-gupti: regulation of bodily activity

Kayaklesa: mortification of the body

Kaya-yoga: activity of body

Kayotsarga: the way of practicing penance in a standing posture

Kevalajnana: pure infinite knowledge

Kevala-jnani: the omniscient

Kevali Jina: the Jina who has attained Kevala-jnana

Krodha: anger

Ksullaka: the lowest grade of ascetics of Digambara sect

Kulakara: law giver

Kula-mada: pride of family

Lanchhana: emblem

Loka: universe

Lobha: greed

Loka-mudhata: belief in superstitions

Mada: pride, arrogance

Madhya-marga: middle path

Madhyastha: indifferent to ill-behaved persons

Maha-vrata: a great vow

Maitri: friendship

Mana: pride

Manahparyaya-jnana: capacity to know other�s mind

Mandira-margi: temple goers, another name of Murtipujaka sub-sect of Svetambara sect

Mano-gupti: control

Mano-yoga: activity of mind

Manu: law giver

Manusya-gati: human form

Matha: monastery

Mati-jnana: sense-knowledge

Maya: deception, illusion

Mithyadarshana: wrong belief

Mithyatva: wrong belief

Mohaniya karma: the deluding-karma

Moksa: attainment of complete freedom of the soul from karmic matter, salvation

Moksa-marga: way to salvation

Mudhata: superstitious belief

Mukta jiva: a liberated soul

Mukti: complete liberation or emancipation

Mula-gunas: basic attributes, root-virtues

Muhapatti: a piece of white cloth kept always on the mouth by Svetambara sadhus

Muni: an ascetic

Muni-dharma: ethical code for ascetics

Murtipujaka: idol-worshipper, a major sub-sect of Svetambara sect

Naigama-naya: the figurative point of view

Nama karma: the body-making karma

Naraka-gati: hellish form

Naya: a particular point of view, a mode of expressing things

Nayavada: system of describing reality from different points of view

Nirgrantha: naked, a naked ascetic, the highest grade of Digambar ascetics

Nirjara: gradual removal of karmic matter from the soul

Nirvana: salvation, liberation

Nischya naya: the realistic point of view

Niyoga: levirate

Pakhandi mudhata: belief in false ascetics

Pancha-indriya Jivas: souls having all five senses of touch, taste, smell, sight and hearing

Papa: demerit

Paramasravaka: best householder

Parigraha: worldly attachments and possessions

Parigraha-parimana: limitation of worldly attachments

Parigraha-parimana vrata: a vow not to exceed worldly attachments beyond a pre-determined limit

Parihara-visuddhi: pure and absolute non-injury

Parisaha: suffering, hardship, affliction

Parisaha-jaya: subdual of sufferings

Prayaya: mode or form

Paryaya-naya: the modal point of view

Pichhi: a peacock-feather whisk-broom

Pramada: carelessness

Pramada-yoga: careless activity of mind, speech or body

Pramana: means of acquiring knowledge

Pramoda: delight for better qualified persons

Pratikramana: the recitation of the formulae of confession of past faults

Pratima: a stage of ethical progress in a householder�s life

Pratyakhyana: the recitation of the formulae for averting future faults

Prayaschitta: expiation

Prthvi-kaya jivas: earth-bodied souls

Prosadhopavasa vrata: a vow to fast on the four days of a month

Pudgala: matter

Puja: worship

Puja-mada: pride in worship

Pujera: worshippers, another name of Murtipujaka sub-sect of Svetambara sect

Punya: merit

Purana: a biography of great teachers or persons

Rasa-parityaga: renunciation of one or more delicacies in food

Ratna-traya: the three Jewels, viz., samyag-darsana, jnana and charitra

Rddhi-mada: pride of wealth or accomplishments

Rjustra Naya: the standpoint of momentariness

Sachitta: flowers, fruits and green vegetables

Sadhu: a male ascetic

Sadhu-margi: followers of Sadhus, another name of Sthanakvasi sub-sect

Sadhvi: a female ascetic

Sagara-dharma: ethical code for householders

Sakala-charitra: complete or unqualified conduct

Sallekhana: ritual peaceful voluntary death by fasting

Sambhirudha naya: the specific standpoint

Samanaska jivas: souls having mind

Samanya kevali: the Jina or the omniscient involved in his own salvation

Samayika: equanimity, meditation