Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

Essence of Jainism

Search for Happiness
Know Thyself
SAMYAKTVA, the basis of Jainism
ASHTAKARMA - Eight types of Karma
  Theory of Karma and Cycle of Rebirth
  Questions and Answers about the Theory of Karma
  Shaddravya, The Six Substances
  NAV TATTVA : Punya and Paap
  NAV TATTVA : Asrava and Bandha
  Samvar and Nirjara
  Other factors conducive to Nirjara
  The Liberation
  Ladder of Elevation
  History of Jain Sects and Scriptures

Other factors conducive to Nirjara


- By Manubhai Doshi

This false identification has however been continuing from embodiment to embodiment and constitutes the basic ignorance of soul that leads it to delusion about itself. This delusion causes the wrong perception leading the conscious entity to believe that �I am the body and my happiness consists of the comforts and well being of the body�. All the activities of worldly souls therefore stay tuned to pursuits of material happiness and physical comforts. This wrong perception has to be erased by attaining th e right perception which is also known as Samyagdarshan. The right perception enables us to distinguish right from the wrong and leads us to the path of true well being. Thus right perception or Samyagdarshan is the basic means for achieving Nirjara.

Another factor responsible for acquiring bondage of Karma is lust for sensuous pleasure. It can also be expressed as absence of restraint. It has however been observed that once a person gains right perception, his approach to life undergoes radical chan ge. He is no longer inclined to lead unrestrained life. His new perception would not allow him to do so. Slowly and steadily, restraint would become a part of his nature and he can afford to take vow for observing the same. This is known as Vrata. There a re five main Vratas that have been laid down for the aspirants. For persons who have renounced the worldly life, they are to be observed to the fullest extent and are therefore called Mahavratas. For laymen it is not practicable to observe them to that ex tent. They are therefore supposed to observe them in modified form, that are known as Anuvratas. Of all these Anuvratas observance of non-violence is the supreme Vrata. In a way it is the essence of Jainism. Other Vratas lie inherent in observance of non- violence. In order to make the observance of these Anuvratas more effective, seven more Vratas have been laid down as supplementary restraints. Three of them are known as Gunavratas and four others have been laid down as disciplinary restraints which are known as Shikshavratas. Following is the list of these 12 Vratas.

1) Observing nonviolence to utmost possible extent

2) Practising truthfulness and avoiding major lies

3) Avoiding theft, burglary, smuggling, cheating etc.

4) Staying contented with married spouse

5) Laying down limits on possessions

6) Restricting the areas of operations

7) Restrictions on consumption and avoiding avocations involving too much violence.

8) Avoiding purposeless activities

9) Practising Samayik for gaining equanimity

10) Restricting activities within a limited area.

11) Observing Paushadh or practising life of a monk

12) Serving the monks and worthy entities and helping the persons in need

With right perception, the aspirant also begins to realize that the favorable or unfavorable situations in life are obtained as a result of the past Karmas. He therefore tries to avoid reacting to any given situation with craving or aversion. Thereby he g ains increasing degree of equanimity and tries to remain unperturbed even in adverse circumstances. That way he starts overcoming defilements.

He also makes out that the life span being limited, he cannot afford to waste any time and should diligently pursue his objective of Self realization. He tries to remain alert to an increasing extent and overcomes all types of indolence. Thus restraint, equanimity and alertness are more or less like corollaries of right perception and invariably follow it, if the person does not lose that perception. Right perception can therefore be called the panacea for gaining Nirjara.