Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

Essence of Jainism

Search for Happiness
Know Thyself
SAMYAKTVA, the basis of Jainism
ASHTAKARMA - Eight types of Karma
  Theory of Karma and Cycle of Rebirth
  Questions and Answers about the Theory of Karma
  Shaddravya, The Six Substances
  NAV TATTVA : Punya and Paap
  NAV TATTVA : Asrava and Bandha
  Samvar and Nirjara
  Other factors conducive to Nirjara
  The Liberation
  Ladder of Elevation
  History of Jain Sects and Scriptures



- By Manubhai Doshi

Kaal: Time

Karma: Impact of one�s action on Self

Karmabandha: Bondage of Karma

Karmayoga: Dispassionate activity

Kashaya: Defilement

Keval Darshan: Omniperception

Keval Jnana: Omniscience

Knowability: Capacity to know

Kshamashraman: Forgiving saint

Koham: Who am I?

Krodh: Anger; enragement

Kshina Moha: Devoid of delusion; 12th stage of elevation

Labhantaraya: Karma that obstructs gain

Layman: House holder

Liberation: Ultimate salvation

Lokakash: Space that accommodates six Dravyas

Lobha: Greediness, covetousness

Maan: Ego; arrogance; vanity

Magadha: Present State of Bihar and adjoining territory

Mahabharat: Name of ancient Indian epic

Manahparyav Jnana: Capacity to read mind

Manahparyay Jnana: Capacity to read mind

Mati Jnana: Intellectual knowledge; intelligence

Maya: Deception; attachment

Mirage: Illusion of water

Mishra: Right and wrong perception mixed; 3rd stage of elevation

Mithyatva: Wrong perception and belief; 1st stage of elevation

Mohaniya: Delusive

Moksha: Liberation; salvation

Mokshamarg: Path of liberation

Muhurta: 48 minutes

Mukti: Liberation; emancipation

Mul Sutra: Name given to a class of auxiliary scriptures

Naam Karma: Physique determining Karma

Nav Tattva: Nine fundamentals

Naya: View point

Neti: Not this, not that etc.

Nikachit: Indelible

Nirjara: Shaking off or dripping of Karmas

Nishkam: Desireless

Omnipercipient: One who can perceive everything

Omnipotent: All powerful

Omniscience: Knowledge of every thing

Omniscient: One who knows every thing; Kevali

Operative: In force

Paap: Sin

Panchachar Sutra: Text dealing with fivefold code

Panchendriya: Five sensed beings

Pandavas: Sons of Pandu; five main characters of Mahabharat

Paapanubandhi Paap: Unwholesome Karmas leading to new unwholesome Karmas

Paapanubandhi Punya: Wholesome karmas leading to unwholesome ones

Paramanu: Infinitesimally minute particles of Pudgal

Paramatma: Supreme entity

Parochialism: Narrowness of mind or thought