Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

14. The Dashvirati Dharma


Bhadrabahu Vijay

Grihasth dharma; partial renunciation.

In the Jain terminology, the names Shravak or Shravika are given to those who love and adore Lord Jina's life and message; who have reverence and devotion for them; who desire to travel on the path of Salvation shown by Lord Jina, and who put forth efforts towards that end according to their ability.

The Shravaks and Shravikas need not, like the Sadhus, renounce totally throughout their lives such things as violence, falsehood, stealing and sensual pleasures or being possessive. On account of the need to carry on domestic life a total renunciatlon of these things is not practical but should not do such things when they can avoid them. Hence, the Lord has shown them the path of Deshvirati dharma.

The twelve vows, (vratas) for Shravakas.

A Description of the vratas and the prohibitions (according to possible breaches)

The spiritual welfare of society increases and the image of the nation grows greater in proportion to the extent to which the character of the individuals gets tolerant and elevated. The Tirthankar Paramatma has prescribed twelve vows which are of profound psychological significance, for the attainment of excellence in character. The codes of conduct and observance prescribed are not to be considered as merely useful for practice but are essential and unavoidable.

Atich�r means the errors of commission and omission (those committed by mistake; those committed knowingly and breaches of non-observance). Even if there is a partial breach of a vow, it is called Atichar violation.

Mainly, there are twelve vows and for each, 5 Atichars or violations have been mentioned. For the performance of the austerities fully, even the Atichars should be given up. The 12 vows have been grouped in three parts.

Anuvrata: Anuvrata means following of vows at a lesser degree compared to same vows observed by sadhus and sadhvis. They are five in number.

Gunavrata -Gunavrata safeguards anuvratas by increasing its efficacy and quality. They are three in number.

Shikshavrata -Some Shikshavrata provides a lighter experience of the life of a Sadhu and also help us to be better prepared for anuvratas.


The Sthool Pranatipat Virman Vrat

(the vow of nonviolence)

The ordinary vow for the renunciation of violence.

The vow not to cause violence and pain to any creature unknowingly or unnecessarily.

Atichar ( Violations ).

1) Binding any creature and putting it in a prison-house or a pound.

2) The beating and chasing of cattle.

3) Cutting their organs or castrating them.

4) Making them draw or carry heavy loads.

5) Starving them without giving them fodder.


The Sthool Mrishavadviraman Vrat.

(the vow of truthfulness)

The vow not to say a lie in any situation or event unnecessarily and unknowingly.

Atichor ( Violations ).

1) Making false accusations against anyone or giving evidence without proof,

2) Throwing blame on others by making public some secrets of theirs.

3) Divulging the secrets of one's wife or of those who are intimate.

4) Giving wrong suggestions and opinions.

5) Preparing a false and forged document or maintaining false accounts.


The Sthool Adattadanaviraman Vrat

(The vow of non-stealing)

The vow not to steal anyone's belongings without cause or unknowingly.

Atichar (Violations)

1) Buying stolen goods.

2) Getting things stolen; encouraging the act of stealing and giving shelter to thieves.

3) Breaking the Government rules relating to customs, taxes and imports and exports; and also smuggling goods.

4) Keeping false weights and measures and wrong balances.

5) Adulteration of commodities.