Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

19. The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)


Bhadrabahu Vijay

1. Pranatipat : Causing violence.

2. Mrishavad : Speaking falsehood.

3 Adatfadan : Stealing.

4. Maithun : Engaging in sexual enjoyments.

5. Parigrah : Having attachment for articles or wealth.

6. Krodh : Getting angry.

7. Maan : Being arrogant.

8. Maya : Being Deceptive.

9 Lobh : Being Greedy.

10. Rag : Showing attachment.

11. Dvesh : Showing hatred and grudge.

12. Kalah : Quarrelling.

13. Abhvakhyan : Making false accusations.

14. Paishunya : Carrying tales against others.

15. Rati-arati : Being pleased or displeased with trifles.

16. Par-parivad : Calumniating others.

17. Maya-Mrishavad: Spreading rumors or scandals.

18. Mithyatvashalya : Believing in false doctrines.

The Jain house-holder must try to get out of the cage of these eighteen sins. One who lives committing these sins will not be able to stop the cycles of birth and death.