Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

21. Before assuming Dharma


Bhadrabahu Vijay

A clear and fascinating guidance has been given in the Jain religion regarding the way in which an individual should live. 21 fundamental virtues should be there in the character of an individual whether it is for the welfare of the individual life, of family life, of social life, or of the national life. The life should be improved by righteousness. When we read the description of these virtues. We realize that the Jain religion has made an attempt to reform and improve every facet of the life of an individual. Life becomes distorted even if one facet is not properly disciplined and directed. One should possess some of the followings:

1. Gambhir : Possessing a magnanimous,large-hearted and dignified individuality; not a low and wavering individuality.

2. Rupavan : One must possess a healthy body of right proportions with perfectly developed limbs.

3. Saumya : Not possessing a frowning face but a face Parkrifi that is cheerful and happy

4. Lokpriy : Having interest in the service of people; being honored by people; being popular.

5. Akrur :Not showing cruelty to any one, not being unkind to any one.

6 Bhiru :Keeping away sins and fearing social censure and keeping away from social evils.

7. Asath : Being simple, humble and innocent.

8. Sudakshinya: One who helps others; and does some service for others

9 Lajjalu : One who shows respect to elders and spiritual superiors.

10 Dayavan : One who is benevolent; one who has cordial and loving relations with others

11. Madhyasth : One who is impartial.

12. Gunanvragi: One who likes the virtues of others; one who has regard for the virtuous.

13. Satkathak : One who wins others by his noble and ideal words and utterances.

14. Supakshyukt: One who has devotion and reverence for noble people.

15. Sudirgadrista: One who takes his step after thinking of the future.

16. Visheshajna : One who examines and views an object from many points of view.

17. Vriddhanug : One who follows the path shown by the enlightened ones and by great men.

18. Vinit : One who possesses politeness, humility and softness.

19. Kritajna : One who is always grateful to benefactors and shows them regard.

20. Parahita-rat: One who works for the good and welfare of others.

21. Labdhiakshya: One who always pursues the objective that has been chosen and determined.