Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

22. Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)


Bhadrabahu Vijay

Certain principles and codes of conduct and rules are absolutely essential for social life and for co-existence. A society can never be strong and stable if it is divided by disorder, anarchy, and distortions. If the society is not strong and disciplined, the nation also becomes weak. The thirty five virtues of the Marganusari life illustrate the Jain system of life which is characterized by imagination and wisdom. Those virtues constitute the foundation of an individual's righteousness. Life can become disciplined, orderly and progressive in proportion to the extent to which this foundation is strong and sound.

1. Nyayoparjit dhan: Money should be earned by honest, legal and morally right methods.

2. Uchit Vivah :One should marry a girl (or a boy) of his own or her own cultural and religious back- ground.

3. Shishta Prasamsa: Giving respect to the cultured and noble people.

4 Shatruta Tyag : One should not have enmity,hatred or spite against any one.

5. Indriyajay: Exercising control over one's sense organs

6. Anishta sthan tyag: Giving up a place where the health of the body and the mind can be spoiled.

7. Uchit grih: Limiting the desires relating to home and being cautious in adhering to the norms of culture and religion.

8. Pap bhay: Making an attempt to get free from sins. Having a fear of sin.

9. Desachar Palan : Conforming to the proper codes and customs of the society and the nation.

10. Lokpriyata:Winning a place in the heart of everyone; and captivating everyone's mind.

11. Uchit Vyay:Spending money within one's income.

12. Uchit Vyavahar: Acting according to the time and situation.

13. Mata Pita Pujan : One should take care of one's parents and give them absolute protection; and render service to them.

14. Satsang: Maintaining familiarity with people who are cultured and noble.

15. Kritagnata:One should not have enmity and grudge for benefactors at any time (one should be grateful to them).

16. Ajirna Bhojan: Not taking more food when one has not digested the food taken; and fasting at such a time.

17. Uchit ahar:Taking food according to the health of the body and its condition.

18. Gnani Puja:Having devotion for and worshipping scholars and men of knowledge.

19. Nindit Karya: Renouncing all actions that are objectionable in the eyes of society and religion.

20. Bharan Poshan:Endeavoring to support and maintain the members of one's family and those who seek our aid and refuge.

21. Dirga-darshita: taking a step after thinking of the consequences of one's action.

22. Dharm-shravan: Hearing only such things as will purify and perfect one's life.

23. Daya: Showing kindness to creatures in distress.

24. Buddhi: Observing the eight rules that make the intellect well developed and sharp and subtle.

25. Gun-pakshapat: Having high respect for virtues; and trying to get free from faults.

26. Duragrah Tyag: Thinking thus, "Mine is not the truth; but that which is truth is mine".

27. Jnanarjan: One must attempt every day to acquire new knowledge.

28. Seva Bhakti: Rendering service to great men and benefactors.

29. Trivarg Sadhan: Trying to achieve the objectives of religiousness (Righteousness) Arth (Money) Kama (Desire).

30. Desh Kal gnan: Thinking of place, time, and the perception.

31. Balabal Vichar: Estimating one's ability before plunqing into any action.

32. Lok yatra: Co-operating in activities that bring about the welfare and development of society.

33. Paropkar pravinta:Being benevolent to the helpless and the destitute.

34. Lajja: Giving respect to elders, spiritual superiors, disciplined People and the virtuous.

35. Saumvata:Being always cheerful and being soft and sweet-tempered.

Even for the development of our human nature, these rules are essential. Those who want to travel on the road of religion must first walk on this path. The religion gets caught only in words if these principles are broken or iqnored. It will not react with life.