Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

25. Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)


Bhadrabahu Vijay

The six kinds of internal austerities.

These are called internal austerities because they are mainly related to the mind.

Prayaschit (Atonement)

One should tell the preceptor the various errors of commission and omission, the faults and sins committed knowingly or unknowingly and must perform prayaschit. One must fully carry out the prescribed atonement. One must make a determination and take a pledge not to commit such faults again in future. Even if any small fault is committed one must say "Michchami Dukkadam" I repent my fault and make atonement for it.

Vinay (Politeness)

One must be polite towards elders and spiritual superiors. One must offer them a seat. When they are moving by, one should stand up with respect. One should conduct oneself in their presence, with decency. One should keep oneself free from the condemning the religion and the perceptos.

Vaiyavachch (service)

It means serving with devotion, to religious teachers, ascetics, virtuous people, Sadhus and sadhvis and colleagues and companions. One should render service specially to the sick and the weak; and give them the necessary help. This quality is very efficacious as an internal Tapas. The Tirtankars themselves have considered this quality as of great significance "Those who render service to the weak and the sick really render service to me" (to the Tirthankar). It has been stated thus in the Shastras.

Vyutsarg (renouncing the attachment for the body)

One should get immersed in the meditation of the Jina, Paramatma for whatever duration it is possible. After renouncing all bodily inclinations and activities and after attaining stillness, one must meditate upon the twenty four Tirthankars along with a certain number of breathings. This austerity has also been called Kayotsarga Dhyan. It is renouncing the attachment for the body and taking care of the soul.

Swadhyay (Spiritual studies leading to self-realization)

One must study, learn and reflect deeply on such sacred books as inspire one to attain self-realization and enable one to save one's soul from getting lost in the entanglements of the mundane life.

Dhyan (Meditation)

Concentrating all the inclinations and potentialities of the mind on a contemplation of the true form of the Atma, soul and the Paramatma, the Supreme Soul and becoming completely absorbed in such a contemplatlon.

Besides these. there are some other daily and special austerities in vogue among Jains.