Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

51. The Nine Doctrines


Bhadrabahu Vijay

Paryapti means a special ability which takes in Pudgals like food and converts them into separate kinds of energy. There are six kinds of Paryaptis.

(1) Ahar - food

(2) Sharir- body

(3) Indriya - senses

(4) Shwasoshwas - Respiration

(5) Bhasha - language

(6) Man -Mind

Pran: (lives) 10 These are also a kind of abilitles.

(1 ) Sparsh-lndriya: The ability to feel the sensation of touch.

(2) Ras-lndriya: The ability to taste.

(3) Ghran-lndriya: The ability to smell.

(4) Chalkshu-lndriya: The abilily to see.

(5) Shravan-lndriya: The ability to hear.

(6) Mano-bal The ability to think.

(7) Vachan-bal: The ability to speak.

(8) Kaya-bal: The ability of the body to move.

(9) Shwasoshwas: The ability to inhale and exhale air.

(1O) Ayushya: The duration of life.

The number of abilities and Pranas in various Jivas.

Abilities Pranas

Ekendriya - those having one sense 4 4

Doindriya - those having two senses 5 6

Teindriya - those having three senses 5 7

Chaurindriya - those having four senses 5 8

Asanjni Panchendriya -those having five

senses but without a mind 5 9

Sanjni Panchendriya -those having five

senses and a mind 6 10

Lord Jineshwar has made a careful and subtle examination of the J;vas. His vast enquiry has exer-cised itself through a number of differences and varieties. He has classified the Jivas into 563 main groups.

Human beings 303 kinds.

Heavenly beings 198 kinds.

Animals and birds 48 kinds

Those that live in hell 14 kinds

Total 563 Kinds of Jivas