Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

56. Samjna


Bhadrabahu Vijay


Mohaniya Karma is the most destructive among the eight karmas The seven Karmas eclipse the original form of the soul. But the Mohan1ya Karma surely distorts the very nature and qualities of the soul. On account of this Karma, the Jivatma falls a victim to various kinds of mental states and propensities. This is called Samjna in the Jain terminology. Samjna means a mental state such as swooning or attachment. The present-day psychologists call these by the name natural gonads. The Jain dharma has classified them under ten heads.

Ahar Samjna : The tendency to eat and drink; and thinking about them.


Bhay Samjna : Experiencing fear and worry ; and thinking of them


Maithun Samjna : Engaging in sexual activity or thinking of it


Parigrah Samjna : Having attachment; and thinking about it. Specially for money.


Krodh Samjna : Experiencing anger and thinking of it.


Maan Samjna : Being arrogant and thinking about it.


Maya Samjna : Deceptive activity and thinking of it.


Lobh Samjna : The propensity of avarice and thinking of it


Ogh Samjna : Blindly proceeding without thin- Imitation king of the pros and cons of

Imitation an action.

Lok Samjna : Going by what others say.