Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words

58. The Process of Spiritual Elevation


Bhadrabahu Vijay

The fourteen Gunasth�naks.

The fourteen Qualitative Stages.

Sadhana and Siddhi

Endeavour and attainment.

Endeavour marks the beginning of the journey of spiritual development. The last and supreme objective of endeavour is spiritual perfection or purification-Mukti- deliverance, Moksha - salvation.

The Sadhakie one who makes the endeavour has to travel step by step; by high, higher and the highest stages in his journey, from endeavour to attainment. Certain actions and reactions occur between effort and attainment of result. Therefore, every dharma, every religion and philosophy has described and prescribed certain stages for the development of the soul. The Sadhak proceeding by those steps or stages reaches his destination and attains the highest peak of Mukti or deliverance.

The Jain philosophy has fixed fourteen stages for the development of the soul; and to indicate by means of those stages, the different levels of spiritual development in Jivas. They have been called Gunasthanaks.

Gunasthanak means the steps or stages of the development of the soul; and character. When the impurities of Karma are discarded, the development of the soul commences. The development of the soul takes place in accordance with the virtues and vices or merits and defects present in it. R�g - attachment, Dwesh - hatred and Moh - infatuation are the three principles that make the soul impure and polluted. The speed of Sadhana or endeavour keeps changing in accordance with the intensity or lightness of these three principles. The low or debased condition of the soul is but the intensity of R�g, Dwesh and Moh. The highest and sublime state of the soul is marked by the complete eradication and disappearance of these three defects. The stages between these two states are called Gunasthanaks


1. Mithyadrishti Gunasthanak

The stage of false-vision or delusion.

Thinking that right, is wrong thinking that truth is untruth. In other words, Mithyathva drishthi is that view of truth which is unnatural. There is no soul in which the eradication of Karma has taken place to some extent or the other. If there is partial purity or clarity in Mithyadrishti it is called Gun�sthanak.

Saswadan Samyagdrishti Gunasthanak

The stage of having tasted righteousness.

Saswadan Samyagdrishti Gunasthanak is the name given to the stage of the soul that has once tasted righteousness - the right path but has returned from there for want of faith in Tatvas- principles. This stage is called so because the soul in that stage has once tasted righteousness.

Mishra Gunasthanak

The mixed stage.

The condition of the soul that lives in this state is really strange. It has neither the view of righteousness nor the view of delusion. Its intellect always keeps swinging and vacillating between the two points. It is neither high; nor low; and it keeps moving between the two. states like a pendulum.

Avirat Samyagdrishti Gunasthanak

Uninterested in Sadhana.

By having an absolute faith in the nine tatvas - principles, the Jiva acquires the right vision - but in this stage, man cannot perform such austerities as tapasya, recitation of holy hymns etc, and cannot renounce worldly things; and also cannot make efforts for spiritual attainment. He reflects on the soul but does not attempt to purify it. He will be Avirat i.e., he will not take interest in self-discipline and spiritual endeavours. In respect of these things, he will be uninterested and inactive.

Though he knows and respects dharma, he does not act according to it. Though he knows what is wrong or adharma, he does not give it up. this kind of cowardly state can be seen in many men.

Deshvirati Gunasthanak

Partial practice of Sadhana.

Desh means an aspect. Virat means renunciation. The Jivatma that lives in this condition makes only a partial renunciation. According to his ability, he also performs the twelve vratas or austerities. The soul that lives in this state attains Moksha in three lives minimum and in 15 lives. maximum.

Pramatta Samyati Gunasthanak

The state of a Sadhu who is not always mindful of Sadhana.

Pramad or intoxication is the name given to the mental state of not being careful in one's spiritual efforts. Samyati means Sadhu. The Sadhus who do not carefully conform to the principles and ideals of the life of a Sadhu and who break those rules exist in this Gunasthanak or stage. The Jiva that lives in this state attains Moksha in 3 lives minimum or 15 lives maximum.

Apramatta Samyati Gunasthanak

Absolutely careful regarding a high level of Sadhana.

Those Sadhus are said to be Apramatta Samyati ( level-headed Sadhus) who always keep their eyes fixed on Moksha; who conform to the principles of self-discipline; and who do not entertain any sinful thoughts; and who do not commit any kind of sinful actions. The Jivatma that lives in that estate keeps away from pride, sensual enjoyments. passions, calumniation and gossip, always and in all forms; and lives strictly according to the principle of the life of a Shraman mendicant. The Jivatma that is living in this state achieves Moksha either in this (Janma) life or within the next three lives.


The stage of renunciation.

This stage is also called, Apoorva Karan. In this condition, the Jivatma is completely freed from the gross passions. His soul attains purity and perfection to a vast extent. He controls his attachments, hatred and infatuation to the maximum extent. The Jivtama living in this state attains Moksha either in this life or within the next three lives.