Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words



Bhadrabahu Vijay

Dhyan means concentrating the mind on anything. It can be auspicious as well as inauspicious. This has been divided into four parts.

1. Artadhyan:

Longing with agony and pining for an object, a person or a state which one desires. Experiencing agony and anguish to discard undesirable persons or states and weeping, beating the head, lamenting and being plunged in sorrow at separation from such persons or states. All these things are called Aartdhyan; and one should get free from it.

2. Raudradhyan:

Beating anyone, killing or murdering anyone or committing such sins as violence, falsehood, theft etc., or abetting such sins and in consequence acting without any self-control. One must completely get free from this kind of meditation and action,

3 Dharmadhyan:

Dharmadhyan is that concentration by means of which, the soul becomes pure and life becomes sublime and sacred. This kind of meditation is fit to be carried out. Four kinds of this have been mentioned.

4. Shukladhyan:

Realizing the soul in its pure. perfect and sublime form; and visualizing the soul; proceeding on the path of internal, spiritual development. This is Shukladhyan. Even this has been classified into some kinds.

The phase of this meditation appears when all passions like Moh infatuation etc., get destroyed, This dhyan is absolutely essential for the attainment of Mukti - salvation.

There are some other meditations than these. Like knowledge (jnan) even meditation (dhyan) is a profound matter. Countless books have been written about this.