Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words



Bhadrabahu Vijay

1. Ayambil Tap: An austerity during which one takes food devoid of any special taste or spices.

2. Asan: A woollen mat to sit on.

3. Agamas: Scriptures in Prakrit or Ardhmagadhi language

4. Avaddh: Taking food and water eight hours after sunrise.

5. Attham: Fasting for three days continuously.

6 Atthai: Fasting for eight days continuously.

7. Anjanshalaka: Applying holy collyrium to the eyes of a new idol of the Lord.

8. Astikay: A collection of Pradeshas or aspects.

9. Ashrav: Evil actions.

10. Avirat: Sinful.

11. Apramatta: Being aware and alert.

12. Apoorvakatan: The stage in which the jivatma is completely freed from the gross passions.

13. Anivritti-badar: Merely passionless state.

14. Ayogi-Kevali: Total freedom from Karmas.

15. Atichar: Violation of rules or vows.

16. Astikya: Total faith in the nine doctrines.

17. Anukampa: Benevolence,

18. Avadhijnan: Knowledge of concrete things obtained by the soul.

19. Aartadhyan: Deep in sorrow.

20. Adan-nikshepan Samiti: Carefulness in taking and keeping things.

21. Anitya: Transitory.

22. Asharan: Refuge.

23. Anupreksha: Another name for Bhavanas or reflections.

24. Anyatva: Thinking that the soul is separate from the body.

25. Ashuchi: Unclean.

26. Biyasan: Taking food only twice a day.

27. Badar: Gross.

28. Bhasha Samiti: Limit in speech.

29. Bhavanas: Reflections.

30. Bodhidurlabh Bhavana: Thinking of faith in Dharma.

31. Chaturmas: The four months of the rainy season.

32. Charvala: A small mop made of woolen threads stuck to a stick.

33. Chauvihar: Taking neither food nor water during fasting after sunset.

34. Chaitya: Jain temple.

35. Charan-karananuyog: Works about conduct and observance.

36. Deeksha: Initiation into the ascetic order.

37. Das-trik: Ten rules with three parts of each for worship or Puja.

38. Desh: Some parts that are attached to Skandh.

39. Dwesh: Hatred.

40. Desh-virati: Phased renunciation.

41. Dhyan: Meditation.

42. Dharmadhyan: Thinking of the ways to make the soul Pure.

43. Dharmaswakhyat Bhavana : Thinking of the effect of Dharma.

44. Dravyanuyog: Works relating to philosophy and theory.

45. Dharmakathanuyog Works relating to literature.

46. Digambar A sect of Jains who think that nakedness is necessary for salvation.

47. Ekasan: Taking food only once in a day.

48. Evambhut Naya: Knowledge of truth as it is ( partial vision ).

49. Eshana-samiti: Limit of articles (food and clothes)

50 Ekatva Bhavana: Thinking of being alone.