Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words



Bhadrabahu Vijay

51. Gunasthanak: A qualitative phase in the process of attaining salvation.

52. Jneya: That which is worthy of being known.

53. Jnan: Knowledge.

54. Gupti: Restraint or concealment.

55. Ganitanuyog: Works comprising mathematics etc.

56. Irya Samiti: Limit in movement.

57. Katasana: A small carpet for sitting on during Samayik.

58. Kayotsarg: Fixed posture for meditation.

59. Khamasaman: Kneeling with five limbs touching the ground.

60. Kayaklesha: Voluntarily bearing the physical exercise or pain.

61. Kashay: The passions like anger. pride, deception and avarice.

62. Kaivalyajnan: Absolute and the highest pure knowledge

63. Kaya-gupti: Restraint on the body.

64. Karuna: Compassion.

65. Leshya: States of mind.

66. Lobh: Avarice.

67. Lok-swarup: Thinking of the structure of the universe.

68. Muhapati: A square piece of cloth to hold near the mouth at the time of speaking.

69. Moh: Infatuation.

70. Mithyadrishti: False vision or delusion.

71. Mishra: Mixed.

72. Mati-jnan: Knowledge obtained by the intellect and the senses.

73. Mana-paryavajnan: Clear knowledge of thoughts and mind obtained by the soul.

74. Mano-gupti: Restraint of the mind.

75. Maitri: Friendship, amity.

76. Madhyasthya: Being unconcerned about the wicked people (neither hatred nor love).

77. Nirlanchan Karma: Causing violence to animals and birds for profit.

78. Nivi: One kind of austerity like Ekasan.

79. Nava-pad: The nine elements or positions for meditation.

80. Nivritti: Renunciation.

81. Naya: Knowledge obtained from a single point of view.

82. Naigam Naya: Understanding only by means of a name.

83. Nirved: An appearance of detachment for all worldly things.

84. No-kashay: The nine kinds of passions.

85. Nirjara: Being free from Karmas.

86. Ogha: A mop of woollen threads.

87. Oli: One kind of austerity.

88. Ogh Samjna: Imitating blindly.

89. Paushadh-Shala: A religious centre.

90. Pranatipat: Causing violence.

91. Pratikraman: Retreat from sins.

92. Porasi: Consuming food or water only three hours after the sunrise.

93. Purimuddh: Taking food and water only six hours after the sunrise,

94, Panahar: This is the vow for the night in some austerities.

95. Panjarapol: A shelter for animals and birds which are disabled or needy.

96. Pradesh: The inseparable parts of Skandh.

97. Pudgal: Matter.

98. Purusharth: Efforts

99. Pramatta: The state of not being mindful.

100. Pramad: Intoxication or laziness.