Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

The Navakar Mantra

What is the Jain Dharma or Jainism?
Who is a Jin?
Who is a Jain?
The Jain dharma
  The Arrangement Of Ara, The Phases Of Time
  Tirtha, Dharma And Tirthankar (One Who Reveals The Dharma)
  The Exposition Of The Philosophy
  Bhagwan Mahavir
  The Path Of Achievement
  Total Renunciation
  Some special rules of conduct for sadhus and sadhvis
  The Dashvirati Dharma
  The Fourteen Pledges By Househl Oders
  Avashyak (The Essentials)
  Prathana (Prayer)
  Jap And Dhyan
  The Eighteen Sources Of Sin (Papa Sthanak)..
  Before assuming Dharma
  Marganusari Gun: (35 virtues that guide us on the path of life)
  Tapasya and the codes of conduct:
  The External austerities ( six kinds )
  Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)
  Some minor and major austerities for daily practice.
  Why is fasting essential ?
  Some Special And Important Austerities
  Why should water be boiled ?
  It is necessary to filter water:
  The Jain Dharma prohibits the eating of the following things
  Why should not people eat meat ?
  Even the egg is dangerous !
  Alcoholic drinks should be renounced
  Why should we not eat certain types of food?
  We should not take food in the night. Why?
  Why should we not eat green and raw vegetables on some special days?
  Organization of the Jain Society
  Some Important Jain Institutions
  Jain Upashray: Religious Centres
  The Jain Libraries
  The Jain Schools
  Ayambil Shala
  The Jain Panjarapol--Shelter for Cattle
  The Jain Choultries
  The Jain Pilgrim Centres
  The system of the seven institutions of the Jains.
  The Jain Festivals
  The Jain Celebrations
  The Jain Philosophy
  The Nine Doctrines
  Kashay- Passions
  The Process of Spiritual Elevation,
  Samiti and Gupti
  16 Bhavanas
  The Jain Literature
  A Representative Jain Work
  A Glossary Of Difficult Words



Bhadrabahu Vijay

101. Praman: Knowledge obtained from multiple- vision.

102. Pratyaksh: Perceptible truth.

103. Parishtapanika-Samiti: Limit in throwing away articles.

104. Pramod Bhavana: Thinking of respecting superiors.

105. Ras-tyag : Renouncing six types of tastes (Rasas) that provoke passions.

106. Rag: Attachment.

107. Rujusutra Naya: Understanding on the basis of the Present condition.

108. Raudradhyan: Thinking of violence.

109. Rajlok: Structure of the universe.

110. Sthapanacharyaji: After giving a special form to the conch-shell, the Panchparmeshthi are enshrined in it and worshipped.

111. Samayik: A religious austerity, sitting in a place for 48 minutes and carrying out spiritual activities.

112. Samlinata: Becoming still in meditation.

113. Sadhporasi: Taking food or water four hours and 30 minutes after sunrise.

114. Samyaktva Dharma: A strong faith in the nine doctrines.

115. Skandh: The full form of a thing.

116. Samvar: The factors that prevent the Karmas from entering the soul.

117. Samjna: Gonads or natural feelings.

118. Samavay: It is the connection between the action and the cause.

119. Sadhana: Spiritual endeavour.

120. Siddhi: Attainment of perfection through the destruction of Karmas.

121. Saswadan Samyagdrishti: Having tasted righteousness.

122. Shraman: Mendicant or ascetic.

123. SukshmaSamparay: Withalittleavariceremaining.

124. Sayogi Kevali: A stage of having perfect knowledge.

125. Sangrah Naya: A general way of understanding.

126. Shabd Naya: Knowledge obtained only from sound.

127. Samabhirudh Naya: Understanding on the basis of the origin and derivation of words.

128 Samakiti: Comprehensive vision.

129 Syadvad: It is relative truth.

130. Samyaktva: Righteousness.

131. Sham: A state of peace.

132 Samveg Innate enthusiasm for salvation.

133 Shruta-jnan Knowledge obtained from the scriptures by enquiry.

134 Shukladhyan: Meditation on the soul in its pure form.

135 Samiti: Limits.

136 Samsar The cycle of birth and death.

137. Swetambar: A sect of Jains who always wear white cloths.

138 Sthanakvasi A sect of Jains started by Laukashah. They reject idol-worship, temples and idols.

139 Tivihar Upavas Taking only boiled water in sitting position only before sunset during a fast.

140. Tatva: Doctrine.

141. Terapanthi A sect of Jains founded by Shri Bhikhanji Swami. Rejects worship of Idol, giving

charity and showing mercy to others.

142. Upashraya: A religious centre.

143 Unodari Eating and drinking less than the quantity required.

144. Upshant Moh Periodically passionless.

145. Upama: Comparison.

146. Upadeya That which is acceptable.

147.Upadhan The exalted 3 types of spiritual endeavors and austerity that a shravak has to do.

148. Vasakshep Scented and sanctified sandal powder for blessing.

149. Vrat: A religious vow.

150. Vigai-tyag: Limiting the consumption of certain kinds of food.

151. Vanah: Restrictions relating to shoes, sandals, etc,

152. Vaiyavach: Serving religious and spiritual fellow members with devotion,

153. Varsi-tap: The austerity of fasting in a prescribed manner throughout a year in the form of fasting for one day and Biyasan for one day etc.

154. Vadas: Metaphorical arguments.

155. Vitrag: One who is totally devoid of attachment and hatred.

156. Vyavahar Naya: External ( Partial ) Understanding

157. Vachan Gupti: Restraint in speech.

158. Yogodvahan: Carrying out yogic activities with Ayambil for scriptural studies.