Jain World
Sub Categories of Jain Books
Books on Line
Book of Compassion




  Consideration of aspects or ways of knowing things

Man as he actually Is



  Causes of karmas
  Man as he may become
  Means to the end
  Stages of development (GUNASTHANA)
  First stage of development
  Second stage of development
  Third stage of development
  Fourth stage of development Part-1
  Love (Daya)
  Soiling of the right attitude

Scale of living beings

  Means whereby the right attitude maybe obtained

Thirty-five rules of conduct


Fourth stage of development-part-2


Fifth stage of development


Twelve special rules of conduct


Sixth to fourteenth stages of development

  Synthesis or Recapitulatiion


  Jain Books
  Catalog of Books in English
  Catalog of Books in Hindi
  Catalog of Books in Gujarati
  List of Books, Topics & Sub-topics and Authors



This is a sort of mixed state in which there is neither liking nor disliking of the truth; a sort of indifference. No great desire or energy is put forth in this state. It is a sort of intermediary stage between an intense dislike of truth and a true relish for the truth. The right attitude of mind towards the truth, towards life, and the universe, is not altogether inoperative. In this stage the most intense or lifelong anger, pride, deceitfulness, and greed are controlled by the mind; they do not rise up. This is the essential in this stage; we come to this stage by loosening the anger, etc. This third stage is a state like that produced by the energy of the second of the 28 sub-divisions of class four.

Whereas this stage and the second stage of development are only momentary in duration, the first stage is of long duration; and when we rise for the first time above this third stage our development is roughly speaking half accomplished.