Jain World
Sub Categories of Jain Books
Books on Line
Book of Compassion




  Consideration of aspects or ways of knowing things

Man as he actually Is



  Causes of karmas
  Man as he may become
  Means to the end
  Stages of development (GUNASTHANA)
  First stage of development
  Second stage of development
  Third stage of development
  Fourth stage of development Part-1
  Love (Daya)
  Soiling of the right attitude

Scale of living beings

  Means whereby the right attitude maybe obtained

Thirty-five rules of conduct


Fourth stage of development-part-2


Fifth stage of development


Twelve special rules of conduct


Sixth to fourteenth stages of development

  Synthesis or Recapitulatiion


  Jain Books
  Catalog of Books in English
  Catalog of Books in Hindi
  Catalog of Books in Gujarati
  List of Books, Topics & Sub-topics and Authors



In the Jain idea of time the smallest division is called a "samaya", and it is so small that there are innumerable "samayas" in a wink of the eye, etc., which is called an "avali". Sixteen million, seven hundred and seventy-seven thousand, two hundred and sixteen "avails" make 48 minutes, or one "muhurta".

Thirty muhurtas make one day.

Fifteen days make one fortnight.

Two fortnights one month.

Twelve months one year.

Innumerable years make one "palyopama".

1,000,000,000,000,000 palyopamas make one sagaropama. In India five sorts of years are recognized, viz. solar, lunar, seasonal, and two others. The seasonal year is of 360 days.