Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions

Jainism  -  Respect For All Life

The birth of Jainism
Mahavira the Path-Maker
The Enlightenment
The Rise of Jainism
  The Two Sects
  The Scriptures
  Rise and Fall
  Jain Beliefs-The Universe
  The Soul
  Karma and Rebirth
  The way of Salvation
  The Everyday Life of a Jain
  The Life of an Ascetic
  Ways of Worship
  Temples and Domestic Shrines
  Ninian Smart

The Scriptures



Similarly, according to tradition, a sacred literature had been passed down orally through the generations, from Mahavira.  But Bhadrabahu was the last person to know it perfectly.  On his death at the beginning of the third century BC, the canon was reconstructed as far as possible in twelve sections (Angas) which replaced the fourteen former texts (Purvas).  Although accepted by the Svetambaras, this canon was rejected by the Digambaras, who held that the old one was hopelessly lost.  Eighty-four works are recognized as belonging to the Svetambara canon, finally fixed in the fifth century AD.  Among them are forty-one Sutras, a number of unclassified works, twelve commentaries and one great commentary.  All were written in the Ardha-Magadhi language.