Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions
About This Book (Translator's Prelude)
Peculiarity of Jainism
Nature of Mundane Existence
  Miseries of Mundane Existence and Bliss of Liberation 
  Exposition of False Belief Knowledge and Conduct
  Analytical study of different religions
  Refutation of False Deity-Preceptor-Religion
  X-ray of Jaina-misbelievers
  Nature of Sermons
  Nature of Liberation Path
  Nature of Noble Peaceful Death
  Rahasyapoorna Chitthi (Spiritual Letter)





Abhavya (Incapable to attain liberation, an incapable soul)

Abhisheka (Anointing ceremony)

Abhrahma (Incontinence, coiton, unchasity)

Adharma (Sinful act, vice, irreligion)

Adharma-dravya (The medium of rest, anti-ethr substance)

Adhah-karana (Beginning of the process of self-meditation through which the soul attains to some degree of purity leading to self-realization- samyagdarshan)

Adho-loka (The lower world, the hells where infernal beings live)

Advaita (Non-dual, the monistic school of Vedanta)

Aghatia/Aghati (Non-obscuring karmas which are the cause of embodiment and surrounding conditions)

Ahimsa/Ahinsa (Non-harming, non-injury, non-violence)

Ajiva (Insentient, non-soul substances)

Ajnana (Ignorance, false knowledg, lack of knowledge)

Akama-nirjara (Involuntary dissocciation of karmas)

Akashaya (Free from passion or desire)

Amudha-drshti (Free from superstitions & delusory notions)

Amurta (Immaterial substances, non-matter)

Ananta-darshan (Infinite perception)

Ananta-jnana (Infinite knowledge)

Ananta-sukha (Infinite bliss)

Ananta-virya (Infinite spritual power)

Anantanubandhi Kashaya (Intensest type of passion causing infintie bondage)

Anashana (Fasting)

Anga (Limb, a group oF 12 Jaina canonical texts)

Anivratti-karana (The process of self-meditation through which the soul attains right belief or self-realization by suppressing certain Mohaniya Karmas)

Antaraya-karma (Obstrutin karma which restricts the energy-quality of the soul)

Antar-muhurta (A period of upto or within 48 minutes)

Anu (Atom)

Anubhaga, Anubhava (Fruition or intensity of karma)

Anubhaga-kandaka (Reduction in fruition of previously bonded

karmas by one-one Antarmuhurta)

Anukampa (Compassion)

Anumana (Inference, deduced)

Anumodana (Approving some act being done by others)

Anupreksha (Reflection, contemplation�s of 12 kinds)

Anuvratas (Minor or small vows pertaining to householders)

Anuyoga (Exposition, a group of four canonical texts)

Aparigraha (Non-possession)

Apoorva-karana (The process of self-meditation through which the soul attains to

an unprecedented degree of purity)

Apramatta-virata (7th Gunasthana - meditation state of a monk in which his

continence is not fouled by carelessness)

Apratyakhyanavarana (Passions which hinder partial conduct)

Arhanta, Arhat (Worthy of worship, omniscient Lord)

Arati (Disliking or displeasure in regard to sense activities)

Ardha-Pudgal- Paravartan-kala (Half of the time of the cycle of wanderings

with reference to karmic matter taken in and cast off infinite times)

Arupi (Immaterial substances)

Asamjni (Without mind, irrational beings not endowed with faculty of reasoning)

Asamyama (Non-restraint, incontinence)

Asata, Asata vedniya (Unpleasant feeling producing karma)

Ashubha (Inauspicious, evil)

Ashubhopayoga (Inauspicious thought activity, 'upayoga' engaged in impious acts)

Ashuchi (Impurity)

Ashuddhopayoga (Impure thought activity causing inflow of karmas)

Atichara (Infraction committed by accident)

Atman, Atma (Soul, self)

Atmanubhava (State of self-realization, 'upayoga' engrossed in self-soul or abiding in one's own nature)

Audayika Bhavas (Dispositions arising from fruition of Karmas)

Aupadhika (Imposed dispositions, unnatural functioning due to rise of karmas)

Aupashamika Bhava (Subsidential right belief and disposition)

Avadhi-darshan (Clairvoyance perception, indistinct awareness preceding Avadhi jnana) Avadhi-jnana (Clairvoyance)

Avagaha (Providing accommodation)

Avagraha (Mere awareness of an object)

Avasarpini Kala (Descending cycle of time)

Avtara (Incarnation, rebirth)

Avaya (Perceptual judgment)

Avirati (Non-abstinence)

Avrata (Non-vow, vowless state)

Acharana (Conduct, behaviour)

Acharya (Chief preceptor, Head of monks' group)

Agama (Scripture, canonical literature, omniscient's preachings)

Akasha (Space substance)

Akinchanya (Non-attachment, possessionlessness)

Asrava (Influx of karmic matter)

Arambha (Commencement)

Arjava (Straightforwardness)

Artadhyana (Sorrowful concentration)

Aryika (Nuns of Digambara sect)

Avarana (Covering or veil)

Avali (Twinkling of an eye)

Ayu (Life karma that determines the span of a given life-time)




Bandha (Karmic bondage, 4 types of bondage)

Bhagwana (Venerable, omniscient God)

Bhakti (Devotion, devotionalism)

Bhava (Dispositional, internal thoughts, psychic)

Bhavanavasi Devas (Residential gods)

Bhava parivartana (Cycle of incarnation, i.e, wandering repeatedly in all states of

embodied existence)

Bhavya (A self with capacity for liberation, capable soul)

Bhavalingi (A true possessionless naked Digamber Jain monk with right belief-knowledge and conduct)

Bhavamana (Psychical mind)

Bhavana (Observance or contemplation�s)

Bhava Nikshepa (Installation by actual state)

Bhava Parivartana (Cycle of thought, i.e., wandering repeatedly indifferent pious-impious thought activities from their minimum to maximum degrees of intensity)

Bhavasamvara (Psychic stoppage)

Bhoga (Enjoyment, experience)

Bhogabhumi (Land or realm of enjoyment)

Brahmachari (celibate, one who observes the vow of celibacy)

Brahma (Creator of universe as per Vaidik culture)

Brahmana (Priest, priestly caste)




Chaitanya (Consciousness, sentience)

Chaitya (Jina's idol, Pratima)

Chaityalaya (Temple where Jina's idol is installed for worship & adoration)

Chakravarti (y) (Universal monarch, king of kings)

Chakshu (Sense of sight)

Chakshudarshan (Visual perception)

Charananuyoga (Ethics, scriptures dealing with the conventional conduct of householders and monks)

Chaturindriya (Four-sensed being having sense of touch, taste, smell, vision, i.e. touch, tongue, nose, eyes)

Chandala (Untouchable person)

Charitra (Conduct)

Charitra-mohaniya (Conduct deluding karmas)

Chhadmastha (Non-omniscient beings)