Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions
About This Book (Translator's Prelude)
Peculiarity of Jainism
Nature of Mundane Existence
  Miseries of Mundane Existence and Bliss of Liberation 
  Exposition of False Belief Knowledge and Conduct
  Analytical study of different religions
  Refutation of False Deity-Preceptor-Religion
  X-ray of Jaina-misbelievers
  Nature of Sermons
  Nature of Liberation Path
  Nature of Noble Peaceful Death
  Rahasyapoorna Chitthi (Spiritual Letter)






Dana (Charity, alms-giving)

Dana-antaraya (A type of obstructing karma which hinders charity)

Darshan (Perception, insight, philosophy, belief of faith)

Darshan-moha/Darshan-mohaniya (Faith or insight deluding karma)

Darshan-Pratima (First Pratima or vow related with right belief)

Darshanavarana/Darshanavarni (Perception-obscuring karmas)

Darshan-Vishuddhi (Purity of right faith)

Dasa Dharma (Ten characteristics of religion)

Desha-Charitra (Partial conduct related with small vows)

Desha-Ghati (Obscuring partially)

Desha-Ghati Spardhaka (Karmic matter which obscures only partially)

Deshana Labdhi(Attainment of omniscient's preachings)

Desha Virata (The 5th Gunasthana where partial continence with partial renunciation is found)

Deva (Celestial being, god)

Deva-Mudhata (Delusion pertaining to gods)

Dharma Religion, duty, pious & pure thought activities, virtue, no violence, righteousness) Dharma Dhyana (Virtuous concentration, pious meditation)

Dharma Tirtha (Holy path, liberation path)

Dhyana (Meditation)

Digambara (Sky-clad, possessionless naked Jain monk)

Diksha (Initiation, vow of renunciation)

Divya-dhwani (Miraculous divine sound forming omniscient's preaching)

Dravya (Substance)

Dravya-mana (Material, mind, an internal sense which acts as instrumental cause in thinking)

Dravya-Nikshepa (Installation by substance)

Dravyendriya (Physical sense)

Dveendriya (Two-sensed being having, sense of touch & taste)

Dvesha (Aversion, hatred-feeling, disliking)

Dvipa (Island)

Dvipa-Samudra (Island-continent surrounded by sea)



Eka (One, unitary)

Eka-kshetravagaha (Occupying the same space points or locus)

Ekanta (One-sided)

Ekantavada(Absolutist doctrine)

Ekatva (Unity)

Ekendriya (One-sensed being having sense of touch only, a synonym for sthavara - immobile beings)

Eshana-samiti (Carefulness in taking food)

Evambhuta-naya (The actual standpoint)




Gana (Congregation of monks)

Ganadhara (Chief acharya monk who possesses four types of knowledge�s And composes scriptures from the preachings of omniscient, Tirthankara; first monk disciple of Tirthankara)

Garbha (Uterine birth; conception)

Gati(Birth, condition of existence, transit from one body to another, destiny)

Ghati, Ghatia karma (Obscuring karmas)

Ghrana (Sense of smell)

Gotra (High or low family status determining karma)

Grantha (Book, scriptures, possessions, attachment)

Guna (Quality)

Gunahani (Decreasing series)

Gunasthana (Stage of spiritual development)

Gunashreni (In multiplying order)

Gunavraddhi (Increasing series)

Gupti (Control, restraint)

Guru (Preceptor monk)




Hasya (Laughter)

Himsa (Injury, violence, harming)

Hundavasarpini (A period of 'avasarpini' i.e., period of downfall in which  extraordinary events may take place)




Indra - Lord of Devas (Celestial beings)

Indriya (Sense organ)

Indriya paryapti (Completion of senses)

Iha (Speculation)

Irya-patha (Influx of karmas caused by vibrations without passions).

Irya-samiti (Carefulness in walking so that no insect or being is harmed)

Ishat-kashayas (Quasi -passions, 9 types - laughter, liking, disliking, sorrow, fear, disgust and 3 types of sex inclinations)

Ishwara (God)




Jainabhasa (False Jainas, so-called Jainas)

Jain, Jaina (Follower of Jina, one who has 'samyak-darshan')

Jati (Genus of beings, caste)

Jati-karma (The variety of Namakarma that determines one's genus)

Jina (The victor, conqueror; a synonym for Tirthankara)

Jina-dharma (Jina's religion, i.e., religion preached by Jina)

Jina-agam (Jaina scripture)

Jina-bimb (Image of a Jina)

Jiva (Soul, sentient, being)

Jivatva (Consciousness, principle of life)

Jnana (Knowledge)

Jnana chetana (Consciousness, realizing consciousness only to be the self)

Jnanavarana karma (Knowledge obscuring karma)

Jugupsa (Disgust, a type of quasi-passion)

Jyotishi devas (Stellar celestial beings)




Kala (Time, katanu-the time substance)

Kala-parivartana (The cycle of time, i.e. wandering repeatedly in all moments of all aeons by taking birth and dying infinite times)

Kalpa (Cycle of 2 aeons, celestial abodes below the graiveyakas heavens)

Kalpatita (Heavenly beings born beyond the kalpas)

Kalyanaka (Auspicious moments or occasions)

Karma (Fine particles of matter called a karman-vargana" that bind the soul; action, act)

Karma-bhumi (Land or realm of action)

Karma-chetana (Knowing oneself to be the doer of actions)

Karman sharira (The transmigrating body of karmic matter bonded with mundane beings)

Karma-phala-chetana (Knowing oneself to be the enjoyer of karmic fruits)

Karma-prakriti (The particular type of karmic matter)

Karta (Doer, agent, instrumental)

Kasaya (Passions - anger, pride, deceit, greed)

Kavala-ahara(Food in morsels, human food)

Kaya-klesha (Mortification of the body)

Kapota-leshya (Grey, dove colored thought complexions)

Karan (Thoughts, degrees of purity of thoughts, means mathematical exposition, case)

Karana (Cause, instrumental or substantial)

Karita (Getting a thing done by others )

Karman-sharira (Karmic matter body bonded with soul)

Karman-Vargana (Molecules of karmic matter which fill the universe)

Karya (Effect)

Kaya (Body)

Kaya-klesha (Mortification of body)

Kayotsarga (Abandonment of attachment with body, standing or sitting posture of meditation)

Kesha-locha (Pulling out one's hair of head & beard)

Kevala-darshana (Omni-perception associated with Kewalagnana-omniscience)

Kevalajnana (Omniscience)

Kevali (Omniscient 'Jina')

Kriyas (Actions, sacred rites)

Krodha (Anger)

Krashna-Leshya (Black thought complexion)

Krata (Performed by oneself)

Kshapak (The destroyer of delusion)

Kshapak-shreni (Ladder of destruction of karmas)

Kshaya (Destruction of karmas)

Kshayika-Bhava (Pure dispositions evolved on destruction of karmas)

Kshayopashamik-Bhava (Dispositions evolved on destruction cum-subsidence of karmas)

Kshetra (Region, space, area)

Kshetra-Parivartana (The cycle of space i.e. wandering infinite times by taking birth and dying on all space points of this universe sequentially)

Kshayopashama Labdhi (Attainment of knowledge or puity in destruction cum subsidence of certain karmas)

Kshina Moha (The monk of 12th Gunasthana whose all charitra mohaniya karmas and passions are destroyed permanently for ever)

Kula (Family, lineage)