Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions
Jaina Monastic Jurisprudence
The Background to Monastic Jurisprudence
The Custodians of Monastic Discipline
Laws of Jurisprudence and Their Working
Transgressions and Punishments
  Church Affairs
  Moral Discipline and Self Control
  Select Bibliography




(11) �ayariya�l.m., taposa Elena ca gurakah.

                       �Brh. kalp. Bha. IV, 3304.


(12) If the acarya, while on tour, did not consult the members of his party regarding a proper residence�then masalaghu.

                               �Ibid. II, 1456-63.


(13) One who was attached to a particular residence and stayed there with lax behavior�mula.

                            �Angd. 7, 55, comm.


 (14) For accepting a residence previously occupied by heretics or that which was originally built by the owner for himself and later on handed over to the monks� calvaro laghaka.


(15) For accepting a residence where sinful fire activity was frequently done the Brahmans, or that which was specially built for the monks, or that which was built for a particular sect of monks�calvaro guravah.

                          �Brh. kalp. Bha., II, 1456ff.







(1) For begging food twice in a daymasalaghu.

(2) For begging food thrice�masaguru.

(3) For begging food four times caturlaghu,

(4) For begging food five times�caturguru.

(5) For begging food six times� sadloghu.

(6) For begging food seven times�sadguru.

(7) For begging food eight times�cheda.

(8) For begging food nine times�mula.

(9) For begging food ten times -anavasthapya.

(10) For begging food eleven times� parancika. �Brh. kalp. Bha. II, 1697-1700




Udgama faults:


(1) Adhakarma�catvaro gurukah


(2) Auddesika�catvaro gurakah


(3) Misra�catvaro gurukah


(4) (Badara)�catvaro gurukah.


(5) Abhyahrta�catvaro gurukah.


(6) Kita�masaguru.


(7) Putika�masaguru.


(8) Adhyavapuraka�masaguru.


(9) Sthapita�masalaghu.


(11) Pramitya�masalaghu.


(12) Krita�masalaghu.


(13) Parivartita�masalaghu.


(14) Svagrama abbyahrta�masalaghu.


(15) Pihita�masolaghu.


(16) Malapahrta�masalaghu.


(17) Itvara sthapita�pancaratrindinani.


(18) Suksma~prabhrtikayam;� pancaratrindinani.


For the rest of the Udgama dosas�catvaro laghukah;


Utpadana faults:


(1) Nimitta� catvaro gurukah.


(2) Mayapinda�masaguru.


(3) Cikitsapinda� laghuko masah.


(4) Vacanasamstava� laghako masah.


(5) Mula� laghuko masah.


(6) For the rest� catvaro laghukah.


(7) Accepting food from a leper or an eunuch� catvaro laghukah.