Jain World
Sub Categories of Jain Books
Books on Line

Questions - Answers on Jainism


Chapter - 1 to 5


Chapter - 6  to 10


Chapter - 11  to 15

  Chapter - 16 to 20

Chapter - 21 to 25

  Chapter - 26 to 30

Chapter - 31 to 33

  Jain Books
  Catalog of Books in English
  Catalog of Books in Hindi
  Catalog of Books in Gujarati
  List of Books, Topics & Sub-topics and Authors

Chapter - 11



What are the Atichar (Violations) of  The  Paripoorna Paushadh Vrat? Atichar (Violations) are:

1) Making the bed carelessly, without looking for any living body or not looking      properly,

2) Not sweeping the place for making bad or sweeping it carelessly,

3) Not seeing the place to dispose the waste properly or seeing it carelessly,      

4) Not sweeping the place to dispose waste properly or sweeping it carelessly,

5) Not following this paushadh vow in a proper manner.


What is The Atithi Samvibhag Vrat?

This vow is to give, with a feeling of selflessness, love and respect, the food, water and other such things necessary for existence to sadhus, sadhvies, shravaks, shravikas, or any needy people or animals.


What are the Atichar (Violations) of The Atithi Samvibhag Vrat?

Atichar (violations) are:

1) Giving or offering any unsuitable food to sadhus or sadhvis,

2) Giving or offering meat, poultry or sea food or any flash to anyone,

3) Giving something which is spoiled, fermented, stale, etc.,

4) Being lazzy to give personally,

5) Bragging about the offering given.


What is the meant by Gunasthanaks?

The Gunasthanaks mean the steps or stages of the spiritual development of the soul.


What does the Mithyadrishti Gunasthanak mean?

Mithyatva-drishthi Gunasthanak - The stage of false‑vision or delusion.

In this stage one accepts right as wrong and wrong as right. One does not have faith in fundamentals (nine tattvas) taught by Jina.


What does the Saswadan Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak mean?

Saswadan Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak - The stage of having tasted righteousness.

Saswadan Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak is the name given to the stage of the soul that has once tasted righteousness ‑ the right path, but is returning from there for want of faith in fundamentals (nine tattavas).


What does the Mishra Gunasthanak mean?

Mishra Gunasthanak ‑ The mixed stage.

In this Gunasthanak, a person has the desire sometimes for samyaktva and sometimes not. Its intellect always keeps swinging and ocillating between the two points like a pendulum. 


What does the Avirati Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak mean?

Avirati Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak - Uninterested in taking vows.

One has faith in the fundamentals (nine tattvas) as taught by Jina. One develops the right vision about liberation of the soul but in this stage, man can not perform any austerities and can not renounce worldly things. He reflects on the soul but can not attempt to purify it.


What does the Deshvirati Gunasthanak mean?

Deshvirati Gunasthanak - Partial practice of Sadhana.

Desh means some aspect. Virat means renunciation.

In this gunasthanak he observes a partial renunciation, according to his ability. He accepts upto the twelve vratas and some austerities.


What does the Pramatta (Samyati) Gunasthanak mean?

Pramatta Samyati Gunasthanak - Pramatta means pramad or Careless. Samyati  means Sadhu.The state of a sadhu/sadhvi in which they are not always carefull of  his or her conduct and in one�s spiritual efforts


What does the Apramatta (Samyati) Gunasthanak mean?

Apramatta Samyati Gunasthanak - Apramatta means Careful. In this stage sadhus and sadhvis confirm to the principles of self‑discipline, and do not entertain any sinful thoughts nor commit any kind of sinful actions.  They keep away from pride, sensual enjoyments, passions, and gossip in all the forms, mentally, verbally, and physically.


What does the Nivriti Gunasthanak mean?

Nivritti‑badar Gunasthanak: The stage of free from gross passions. This stage is also called, Apoorva Karan. In this stage sadhu/sadhvi is completely free from the gross passions. His soul attains purity and perfection to a vast extent. He controls his attachments, hatred and infatuation to the maximum extent.


What does the Anivriti-Badar Gunasthanak mean?

Anivritti‑badar Gunasthanak:    The stage of lean Passions. In this stage, the passions become completely lean, small and powerless.


What does the Suksham Samparay Gunasthanak mean?

Sukshma Samparay Gunasthanak: The stage where a subtle avarice is remaining.

When the soul steps into this stage, except subtle part of avarice (Lobh) all the other passions disappear.


What does the Upashant Moha Gunasthanak mean?

Upashant Moh Gunasthanak: Suppressed passions.  It is delusive stage of being Vitrag because the passions (Kashaya) are not destroyed but they are suppresses. Passions surface within one antah muhurt and make the soul dive downward is spiritual stages.


What does the Kshin Moha Gunasthanak mean?

Kshina Moha Gunasthanak: Passionless stage.  While reaching to this stage the soul has gotten rid of all the passions. The soul is called Vitragi.


What does the Sayogi Kevali Gunasthanak mean?

Sayogi Kevali Gunasthanak: The stage of Kevaljnan, Kevaldarshan, and infinite power. In this stage, the soul becomes completely free from all ghati karmas. It is called Sayogi because activities of mind, voice and body are still present.


What does the Ayogi Kevali Gunasthanak?

Ayogi Kevali Gunasthanak: Totally free from any activity.  The Ayogi state is the final step of the soul�s progress. The soul stops all the activities of mind, voice and body and within a fraction of seconds it destroys all the remaining aghati karmas and is liberated forever.


How many Gunasthanaks are there?



Can you name the 1st Gunasthanak?

Mithya-drishti Gunasthanak


Can you name the 2nd Gunasthanak?

Saswadan Samyakdrishti Gunasthanak


Can you name the 3rd Gunasthanak?

Mishra Gunasthanak


Can you name the 4th Gunasthanak?

Avirati Samyak-drishti Gunasthanak


Can you name the 5th Gunasthanak?

Deshvirati Gunasthanak


Can you name the 6th Gunasthanak?

Pramatta-samyati Gunasthanak or Sarva-virti Gunasthanak


Can you name the 7th  Gunasthanak ?

Apramatta-samyati Gunasthanak


Can you name the 8th Gunasthanak?

Nivritti‑badar Gunasthanak


Can you name the 9th  Gunasthanak?

Anivritti‑badar Gunasthanak


Can you name the 10th Gunasthanak?

Sukshma-samparay Gunasthanak