Jain World
Sub Categories of Jain Books
Books on Line

Questions - Answers on Jainism


Chapter - 1 to 5


Chapter - 6  to 10


Chapter - 11  to 15

  Chapter - 16 to 20

Chapter - 21 to 25

  Chapter - 26 to 30

Chapter - 31 to 33

  Jain Books
  Catalog of Books in English
  Catalog of Books in Hindi
  Catalog of Books in Gujarati
  List of Books, Topics & Sub-topics and Authors

Chapter - 24



Name 198 catagories of angels.

99 developed and 99 undeveloped angels

25 Bhavanpati

26 Vanvyantar

10 Jyotishik

12 Kalpopann

03 Kilvishik

09 Lokantik

09 Graiveyik

05 Anuttarvaimanik

Totaling 198


What is a Paryapta Jiva?

A Jiva that has fully developed all its paryapties is called paryapta jiva.


What is Aparyapta Jiva?

A Jiva that has not developed all its paryapties to the full extent is called aparyapta jiva.


Can you Name the different types of Paryapties. They are:

1) Ahar

2) Sharir

3) Indriya

4) Shvasoshvas

5) Bhasha

6) Man Paryapti


How many are the types of Mithyatva?



What are the five types of Mithyayva?

Abhigrahik mithyatva

Anabhigrahik mithyatva

Abhiniveshik mithyatva

Sanshayik mithyatva

Anabhogik mithyatva


What are the ten types of Mithyatva ideas?

1.To call Jiva as Ajiva

2.To call Ajiva as Jiva

3.To consider the right path of spirituality as the wrong path

4.To consider the wrong path as the right path of spirituality

5.To consider the right path following monk similar as one following the wrong path

6.To consider a wrong path following monk similar as one following the right path

7.To consider the path of worldly life as path to liberation

8.To consider spiritual path to liberation as wrong path

9. To call liberated souls as non-liberated souls

10.To call non-liberated souls as liberated


How many types of Samyakatva are there?



What are the two types of Samyakatva?

Vyavahar Samyakatava, which is the practical conation

Nishchaya Samykatava, which is the real conation


How can we know about the Vyavhar Samyakatva?

There are five signs of Vyavahar Samyakatva. They are:

1. Sam (Equanmity)

2. Samvega (Keen desire for liberation)

3. Nirveda (Non-attachment to sensual feelings)

4. Anukampa (Compassion)

5. Astika (Belief in spiritual principles)


What is Astika?

Astikta is to believe in


Punya (merit)

Pap (demerit)

Parlok (next world)

Svarg (celestial abode)

Narak (hell)


Are Jains Nastik?

No, those who believe in the soul, merit, demerit, their fruits and believe in liberation, salvation or Moksha are not Nastik. Jains believe in all these, so they are not nastik.


What are the ten bases (Ruchies) of Samyaktva?

They are: 

Nisarg Ruchi (natural desire)

Updesh Ruchi (desire arising after listening to scriptural lecture)

Agya Ruchi (desire to follow the preachings)

Sutra Ruchi (desire to study scripture)

Beej Ruchi (to know in brief and then to think about it in detail)

Abhigam Ruchi

Vistar Ruchi

Kriya Ruchi

Sankshep Ruchi

Dharam Ruchi


How many types of Karan are there?



What are the three types of Karan?

Yatha Privritti Karan

Apurv Karan

Anivritti Karan


What is Anivritti karan?

It is a state of thought activity after reducing the period of Apurv karan by one muhurat, and wiping out the operation of wrong belief when one is about to get the right vision.


How many types of Samyakatva are there?



What are the five types of Samyakatva?

They are: 

Sasuadan samyakatva

Kshayopshamik samyakatva

Aupshamik samyakatva

Vedak samyakatva

Kshayik samyakatva