Jain World
Sub-Categories of Passions
Shraman Bhagavan Mahavira and Jainism
The Jaina Concept of Soul
The Law of Karma
The Path of Moksha

The Law of Karma



The world is full of joy and sorrow.  Some people are happy and some are unhappy all throughout their life.  Some people are happy or unhappy for some time.  A child is born without eyes and ears, A man saves his life miraculously in a plane crash.  A saint is murdered.  A murderer enjoys all his life without being detected.  When we ponder over all such and so many other incidents happening around us, we are puzzled.  We ask ourselves, "Is there justice in this world?  If there is, why should such things happen in this world?  Is not God cruel and unjust?  Is there any rule or law which decides all these things?"  To this Jainism answers, "Yes.  There is a law which decides and explains all these things.  It is the Law of Karma (i.e.  The Law of Deeds or Actions)."


According to Jainism, the Law of Karma leads us to believe in the theory of rebirth, which explains all that is inexplicable about such incidents.


With this Law of Karma, Jainism explains why there are joys and sorrows, happiness and unhappiness, prosperity and adversity, equalities and inequalities in the world; why one person is rich and the other is poor; why one is intelligent and the other is dull; why two persons do not have similar face, figure, voice, fingerprints, etc.


According to Jainism there are eight types of Karma and whatever happens to any living being at any time is due to the nature and intensity of the relevant Karma, either as result of an old Karma of the previous or the present birth or is due to a new Karma which is being produced.  These eight types of Karma are


(1) Jnanavaraniya (Regarding Knowledge)


(2) Darshanavaraniya (Regarding Faith)


(3) Vedaniya (Regarding Experiences)


(4) Mohaniya (Regarding Attachment)


(5) Aayu (Regarding type of Life and Age)


(6) Nama (Regarding different physical and other attributes)


(7) Gotra (Regarding Family)


(8) Antaraya (Regarding obstacles in different activities of life).


Of all these Karmas, it is most difficult to conquer the Karma of attachment because of anger, ego, infatuation, greed etc.  When the body dies the soul transmigrates to another life with the remaining Karma.


Jainism believes that the soul is an independent and the most powerful substance and therefore the soul itself can liberate itself from the bondage of Karma.  This could be done by adopting the right path of liberation or the path of Moksha.