Jain World
Sub-Categories of English Books
Jainism : as a Religion
An Antiquity of Jain Asceticism
Jain Asceticism in Vedic literature
Rsabhadeva and Other Tirthankaras
  Tirthankara Parsvanatha
  Jain Ascetic Sects and Schools
  Jain Scriptures
  Ecology and spirituality in Jain tradition
  Theory of Anekantavada
  Conception of soul (Jiva)
  Ajiva Tattva
  The Theory of Karma
  Classification of knowledge
  Jain Ethics and Asceticism
  The Categories of Jain Ascetics
  The Lay Adherent (Sravaka)
  Vegetarian Diet
  Jain Mendicant
  Meditation (Dyane)
  Rites and Rituals
  Jain as a Community
  Status of Women
  Spread of Jainism
  Art and Architecture
  Jainism and Science

The Categories of Jain Ascetics


              110. There are two types of ascetics in Jainism: Sravakas and Munis. With the sole intention of achieving the purified state of soul, Jainism prescribes some fundamental spiritual disciplines and practices. They can be observed partially and totally. Partial observation is prescribed for the householder (Sravaka), as he is unable to desist from all sins completely whereas an ascetic Muni is expected to observe the code of conduct totally as he practically does not stay at tome. He observes vows completely (Mahavrati) and is free from sting, the main root of pain and emotion arising from Karmas. Sting is of three kinds, viz. i) Deceit termed as Maya, ii) desire for enjoyment termed as Nidana, and iii) perverse attitude termed as Mithyadarsana. The practice of asceticism with vigilance dispels sufferings and strings just as an excellent specific herb removes disease. Jainism lays greater emphasis on asceticism and so naturally there is more discussion on their conduct is found in literature.