35. Chalit Rasa (decayed or stale items)
36. Many-seeded vegetables
37. Eggplant (brinjal)
38. "Unknown" fruits
39. Pods of the Banyan tree
40. Pods of the Umbara
41. Pods of the Pipal tree
42. Pods of Plux
43. Ananta-kaya (literally "infinite bodies")
(Note that milk products are not directly prohibited)
Most lay Jains do not avoid all of the above, while Flesh, Poison and Earth are obviously shunned by all. Many Jains are also keen to avoid Alcohol and anything which is grown underground (such as potatoes, carrots, onions, etc.) since they involve the unnecessary death of the whole plant and the disruption of many Jivas, both visible and microscopic, that dwell in soil. Monks and nuns, however, must take great care to avoid every item on the list. During times of penance, and especially during the annual observance of Paryushana, laypersons are also enjoined to shun each one of them, completely.
Jains are also not permitted to mix milk with Pulses or "Khator". Hence when Kudhi is made, the yoghurt is boiled first.
Fast Food: please check out the Vegetarian Society Page on Fast Food. Extracts below:
McDonalds: The sundaes are vegetarian. A small amount of fish oil is used in lubricating the machinery when making the apple pies. Nothing was mentioned about the use of animal fats in their manufacture. (However) It was also suggested that the apple pies (head office didn't confirm this) are made with mixed animal and vegetable fats and the doughnuts are made with egg yolk powder which is unlikely to be free-range.
Burger King: The spicy bean burger is vegetarian and is cooked separately from other products. The fries are cooked in hydrogenated vegetable oil. They cannot be guaranteed free from cross contamination, i.e. bean burgers may be cooked in the same vat as meat products by accident or the same utensils may be used for different foods at busy times. The ice cream is vegetarian on but the apple pies contain gelatin.
PizzaLand: None of the cheeses used on the vegetarian pizzas contain animal rennet.
PizzaHut: All vegetarian dishes have a Pizza Hut V next to them on the menu indicating that they are suitable for ovo-lacto vegetarians.
So, the best advice for eating in fast food outlets is either don't eat out, or be observant and don't feel shy to ask of questions.